At a glance
- Places to stay compared
- 16 that take dogs, plus 3 that don't take pet dogs in rooms
- Free
- Symonds Yat Rock Lodge; Monmouth Caravan Park (up to 2 dogs per pitch, per tourism listing)
- Per-stay fees
- £10 for up to 2 dogs (Inn on the Wye); £15 (Swan at Hay); £50 per dog (Old Court self-catering, Aug 2025)
- Per-night fees
- £5 (King's Head); £10 (Riverside Hotel, per listing); £15 per animal (Hope & Anchor); £15 per pet (Forest Holidays); £20 per dog (Royal George)
Not clear from the source
- Fees are 'apply' or 'not stated' for the Royal Hotel Ross, the Royal Lodge, the Wye Valley Hotel, the Beaufort and Wilton Court. Ask before booking.
- We found no independent B&B or guest house in the area whose own website states a pet-dog policy. Tintern's community site lists some B&Bs as dog friendly, but we couldn't confirm their policies on their own sites.
- The Hostelrie at Goodrich has rooms, but its rooms website blocked our checks, so its room policy isn't included.
The short version
Three things decide whether a Wye Valley stay works for your dog:
- Is there a dog room left? Many hotels have only one or a few, and several insist you book direct by phone or email.
- Is the fee per night, per stay, or per dog? The difference adds up quickly over a long weekend.
- Where can the dog go once you're in? The bar is usually fine, but the restaurant often isn't.
Everything below is taken from each venue's own website, or a clearly marked tourism listing, on 25 October 2026.
Fees and room rules at a glance
| Place | Town | Type | Dog fee (as stated) | Room rule | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Symonds Yat Rock Lodge | Hillersland, nr Symonds Yat | Self-catering | "Pets stay for free" | "All our self-catering apartments are dog friendly" | rocklodge.co.uk |
| Monmouth Caravan Park | Monmouth | Touring park | No extra cost | 2 dogs per pitch, on leads at all times | Visit Monmouthshire listing |
| The King's Head Hotel | Ross-on-Wye | Hotel | £5 per night | "most of our rooms"; tell them in advance | kingshead.co.uk |
| Inn on the Wye | Kerne Bridge | Inn | £10 per stay, up to 2 dogs (book direct) | Dogs welcome throughout, incl. restaurant and bar | innonthewye.co.uk |
| The Riverside Hotel | Monmouth | Hotel | £10 per night | "by arrangement" (tourism listing; own site silent) | Visit Monmouthshire listing |
| The Swan at Hay | Hay-on-Wye | Hotel | £15 per stay | Coach House rooms | swanathay.co.uk |
| The Hope & Anchor | Ross-on-Wye | Pub with rooms | £15 per animal per night, plus possible damage charge | 3 pet-friendly rooms | thehopeandanchor.co.uk |
| Forest Holidays Forest of Dean | nr Christchurch / Symonds Yat | Cabins | £15 per pet per night | Pet-friendly cabins; up to 4 pets; never unattended | forestholidays.co.uk |
| The Royal George | Tintern | Hotel | £20 per night per dog, non-refundable | Ground-floor dog rooms only; damage disclaimer | theroyalgeorge.com |
| Old Court Hotel self-catering | Symonds Yat West | Cottage and apartments | £50 per dog per stay (Aug 2025 rates) | Cottage and barn apartments | rates PDF |
| The Royal Hotel | Ross-on-Wye | Hotel (Greene King) | "Dog charges apply" – amount not stated | Limited dog rooms; must pre-book | greenekinginns.co.uk |
| The Royal Lodge | Symonds Yat East | Hotel | "additional charges apply" – amount not stated | Dog-friendly room; book direct | royalhotel-symondsyat.com |
| The Wye Valley Hotel | Tintern | Hotel | Not stated | One dog room, by direct contact only; dogs limited to the bar | thewyevalleyhotel.co.uk |
| The Beaufort Hotel | Chepstow | Hotel | Not stated | Dogs welcome in bedrooms and throughout | beauforthotelchepstow.com |
| The Lion Inn | Trellech | Pub with cottage | Not stated | "mention if you are bringing a dog"; room rule not stated | lioninn.co.uk |
| Wilton Court | Wilton, Ross | Restaurant with rooms | Not stated | "by prior arrangements only" – old page (2006/07 tariff) | wiltoncourthotel.com |
Where dogs can't stay
- Ye Old Ferrie Inn, Symonds Yat West: "We don't allow dogs in any of our accommodation." Source
- Saracens Head Inn, Symonds Yat East: "Regretfully we do not allow pets to stay". Source
- Parva Farmhouse, Tintern: the site mentions only guide dogs, "welcome in certain bedrooms and public areas". Source
What about B&Bs?
We looked for independent B&Bs and guest houses whose own websites spell out a dog policy, and didn't find one in this stretch of the valley. Tintern's community 'Dog Friendly Tintern' page lists a couple of B&Bs, but we couldn't find the same policy on their own sites, so they aren't included here. If you're set on a B&B, ring and ask three questions:
- Which rooms take dogs?
- What's the fee?
- Can the dog come into the breakfast room?
Wader's tip
Price a long weekend before you book. For two dogs over three nights, here's what each place's stated fees come to (where a fee is given):
| Place | Two dogs, three nights |
|---|---|
| Rock Lodge | £0 |
| Inn on the Wye | £10 |
| Swan at Hay | £15 (per stay, if it covers both dogs) |
| King's Head | £15 (if the fee is per room, not per dog) |
| Hope & Anchor | £90 |
| Forest Holidays | £90 |
| Old Court self-catering | £100 |
| Royal George | £120 |